Moe Set for Westwood Face-Off

Sat 21 Apr 2012

Moe Set for Westwood Face-Off

Jakarta, April 21: Veteran golfer Zaw Moe of Myanmar birdied the last hole to cut Lee Westwood’s lead by two after returning Saturday morning to complete the second round of the CIMB Niaga Indonesian Masters presented by PNTS.

Moe completed six holes this morning, posting a bogey on the fifth hole before fighting back with birdies on seven and nine for a second round five-under-par 67 at the US$750,000 Asian Tour event.

Westwood, who will have an edge with the extra rest after finishing his round before play was suspended, leads the tournament on 11-under-par 133, with Moe being the closest challenger at the Royale Jakarta Golf Club.

Japanese Masanori Kobayashi is a further four shots back from Westwood while Kieran Pratt of Australia, who also completed the second round on Friday with a sparkling 65, is in tied fourth place with Bernd Wiesberger of Austria on 138.

Moe, who will be chasing for his second Asian Tour victory since 1997 said: “I’m looking forward to play with him (Westwood), he is one of the best players in the world. I’ll play my own game and against the golf course. I played with him before, 14 or 15 years ago in Japan so there won’t be added pressure, I hope.”

The halfway cut was set at three-over-par 147 with a total of 69 players making the cut.

Scores after round 2 of the CIMB NIAGA Indonesian Masters Presented by Pnts being played at the par 72, 7262 Yards Royale Jakarta GC course (a- denotes amateur):
133 - Lee WESTWOOD (ENG) 65-68.
135 - Zaw MOE (MYN) 68-67.
137 - Masanori KOBAYASHI (JPN) 69-68.
138 - Kieran PRATT (AUS) 73-65, Bernd WIESBERGER (AUT) 70-68.
139 - Shiv KAPUR (IND) 68-71, LEE Sung (KOR) 68-71.
140 - Daisuke KATAOKA (JPN) 72-68, James BYRNE (SCO) 73-67, Boonchu RUANGKIT (THA) 68-72, Pablo HERRERIA (ESP) 73-67.
141 - Thanyakon KHRONGPHA (THA) 71-70, Prom MEESAWAT (THA) 72-69, Adam GROOM (AUS) 72-69, Unho PARK (AUS) 72-69, Thaworn WIRATCHANT (THA) 72-69, Thitiphun CHUAYPRAKONG (THA) 69-72.
142 - BAEK Seuk-hyun (KOR) 72-70, Antonio LASCUNA (PHI) 70-72, Ajeetesh SANDHU (IND) 70-72, Gaganjeet BHULLAR (IND) 72-70, Rick KULACZ (AUS) 69-73, Angelo QUE (PHI) 69-73, Anirban LAHIRI (IND) 74-68, Panuphol PITTAYARAT (THA) 74-68, Elmer SALVADOR (PHI) 71-71, Sujjan SINGH (IND) 73-69, Berry HENSON (USA) 69-73, Anura ROHANA (SRI) 72-70.